August 31, 2010

Part of a Stool

My mother gave me this incomplete stool. It’s missing one rung. I’m glad it is, because that missing rung inspired me to give this stool a special use. In my last apartment, the bathroom had no counter space. This stool was just the right height to set my glasses beside the sink when I washed my face. And its missing rung let it slide away from the wall without disturbing the little waste bin beneath it.

Iranian designer Pedram Harby used text to complete a broken stool’s structure, in the poster below. He found opportunity in asymmetry, and it reminded me of my bathroom stool.

Thank you, Pedram, for your permission to use this beautiful poster.

Leave a Reply

Category

Lifestyle, Stool